RAHS chasing state-tournament berth

The celebration is on hold for the Roseville Area High School baseball team.

The Raiders, looking to wrap up the Section 4AAA title Tuesday at Midway Stadium, lost 5-2 to Hill-Murray. Since this was Roseville's first loss of the double-elimination tournament, a deciding second championship game will be held Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. at Midway.

Hill-Murray never trailed as it grabbed the lead with a run in the top of the second inning.

Roseville responded with a run of its own in the bottom of the second as Chris Dishop singled up the middle to plate Ben Buerkle.

Hill-Murray went back in front for good with two runs in the top of the fifth. Roseville pulled within a run in the sixth when Buerkle drove in Sam Podobinksi with a base hit. But the Pioneers pulled away with two more runs in the top of the seventh inning. Roseville is looking for its first state-tournament appearance since 2002. The seventh-seeded Raiders reached the section final with wins over White Bear Lake, Cretin-Derham Hall, Mounds View and Hill-Murray.

Hill-Murray is the No. 1 seed and following a first-round bye beat Tartan and Mounds View before losing to Roseville in the fourth round. The Pioneers secured their place in the section final by eliminating fifth-seeded Stillwater on Monday in the loser's-bracket final.

The Section 4AAA champion opens the state tournament June 14 at 12:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium against the champion from Section 8AAA. Bemidji and St. Cloud Apollo meet in the 8AAA final on Wednesday.

Section 4AAA baseball playoffs First round Game 1 - Tartan 5, East Ridge 3 Game 2 - Stillwater 4, South St. Paul 3 Game 3 - Woodbury 3, Mahtomedi 1, 8 innings Game 4 - Roseville 3, White Bear Lake 2, 9 innings

Second round Game 5 - Hill-Murray 2, Tartan 1, 10 innings Game 6 - Stillwater 10, North St. Paul6 Game 7 - Mounds View 7, Woodbury 2 Game 8 - Roseville 5, Cretin-Derham Hall 3

Third round Game 9 - Hill-Murray 4, Stillwater 2 Game 10 - Roseville 5, Mounds View 1

Fourth round Game 11 - Stillwater 5, Mounds View 4 Game 12 - Roseville 11, Hill-Murray 0, 5 innings

Loser's bracket final Game 13 - Hill-Murray 7, Stillwater 0

Championship round Game 14 - Hill-Murray 5, Roseville 2 Game 15 - Roseville vs. Hill-Murray, Wednesday, 2:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium

Comment Here