4AAA baseball: Roseville takes out Cretin

The seventh-seeded Roseville Area High School baseball team eliminated second-seeded Cretin-Derham Hall 5-3 in the second round of the Section 4AAA playoffs.

Roseville opened the scoring in the top of the second when Ben Buerkle led off with a walk and later scored on an outfield error.

Cretin tied it up with an unearned run of its own in the bottom of the second.

In the third, Roseville got a leadoff single from Sam Podobinski, who later scored on Dan Busch's single through the hole at shortstop.

Roseville tacked on two more in the fourth inning. Chris Dishop scored the first run of the inning when he led off with a single up the middle, took second on Mike Stasny's sacrifice bunt and covered the final 180 feet on a pair of wild pitches.

Andrew Colvard then reached on an error and came all the way around on Austin Colvard's triple.

Cretin pulled within one with a pair of runs in the sixth inning.

After Cretin pulled within one in the sixth, Roseville responded with an insurance run in the top of the seventh when Zach Hayes doubled with two outs and Buerkle delivered a run-scoring single.

Hayes wrapped up his fifth complete game of the season by striking out two batters in the bottom of the seventh.

Roseville reached the second round via its 3-2, 9-inning victory over White Bear Lake in the first round on Friday. Cretin received a bye in the first round.

In the regular season, Roseville and Cretin split a pair of games. Roseville won the first meeting 2-0 on April 23 while Cretin returned the favor with a 2-1 win on May 14.

Roseville advances to the double-elimination portion of the section tournament and a 7:30 p.m. game on Thursday at Midway against Mounds View. The Mustangs beat Woodbury 7-2 on Monday.

In other Section 4AAA action Monday, top-seeded Hill-Murray survived Tartan's upset bid with a 2-1, 10-inning victory. In game two, fifth-seeded Stillwater eliminated fourth-seeded North St. Paul 10-6. Hill-Murray and Stillwater will meet at 5 p.m. on Thursday at Midway Stadium.

Section 4AAA baseball playoffs First round Game 1 - Tartan 5, East Ridge 3 Game 2 - Stillwater 4, South St. Paul 3 Game 3 - Woodbury 3, Mahtomedi 1, 8 innings Game 4 - Roseville 3, White Bear Lake 2, 9 innings

Second round Game 5 - Hill-Murray 2, Tartan 1, 10 innings Game 6 - Stillwater 10, North St. Paul6 Game 7 - Mounds View 7, Woodbury 2 Game 8 - Roseville 5, Cretin-Derham Hall 3

Third round, May 31 at Midway Stadium Game 9 - Hill-Murray vs. Stillwater, 5 p.m. Game 10 - Mounds View vs. Roseville, 7:30 p.m.

Fourth round, June 2 at Midway Stadium Game 11 - Game 9 loser vs. Game 10 loser, 4 p.m. Game 12 - Game 9 winner vs. Game 10 winner, 7 p.m.

Loser's bracket final, June 4, 2:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium Game 13 - Game 11 winner vs. Game 12 winner

Championship round, June 5, 7 p.m. at Midway Stadium Game 14 - Game 12 winner vs. Game 13 winner Second game, if necessary, June 6, 2:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium

Comment Here