Primary election voters to narrow field of candidates Aug. 14

It is almost time for the primary election, when area residents will have the chance to narrow down candidates for the general election. The votes cast Aug. 14 will determine who will be on the Nov. 6 ballots.

The primary ballots will include candidates for congressional, legislative and county offices as well as a few municipal seats. Residents can find their voting locations by typing their addresses into the polling finder at the Minnesota Secretary of State website,


4th Congressional District

Three DFL candidates vying for the 4th Congressional District seat will be winnowed to one in the primaries. Incumbent Betty McCollum will be up against Muad Hassan and Reid Rossell.

GOP candidate Gred Ryan will face the final DFL candidate in the general election this fall.


House District 53A

In House District 53A — which is made up of Landfall, Oakdale south of 10th Street, most of south Maplewood and the northeastern section of Woodbury — residents will vote in the primary to determine if Bill Dahn or Andy Turonie will be the GOP candidate for the open House seat.

DFL Rep. JoAnn Ward — who currently represents House District 53A — announced in January that she will not be seeking re-election to the Legislature. She is currently finishing up her third term.

As the only DFLer to file for candidacy, Tou Xiong, will automatically be on the general election ballot.


Washington County Board District 2

The Washington County District 2 position will also be on some residents’ primary ballots as the three who filed for candidacy must be narrowed to two.

District 2 includes Birchwood, Pine Springs, Willernie, Landfall and Oakdale in addition to parts of Mahtomedi, Woodbury and White Bear Lake.

Incumbent Stan Karwoski will be competing for the nonpartisan position against Joe Delaney and Julie Ohs.


Maplewood City Council

Two Maplewood City Council seats will need to be filled in the general election, but first, one of the five candidates must be eliminated in the primaries. 

Incumbents Marylee Abrams and Kathleen Juenemann will be squaring off against Kevin Berglund, Tyler Hamilton and Nikki Villavicencio.


Oakdale Mayor Special Election

There is also a special election for a partial Oakdale mayoral term being held at the same time as the primary election. Current appointed mayor Paul Reinke is the only person who filed for candidacy, so he will be the only name listed on the ballot for that position.

In the likely event he is voted in, Reinke will serve through the end of 2018, when the term ends. 

The person who will fill the next full, four-year Oakdale mayoral term will be determined in the Nov. 6 general election. The filing period for that position will be open until Aug. 14, but no primary election will be held. This term will run from January 2019 through December 2022.


– Aundrea Kinney can be reached at 651-748-7822 or

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here