NEWSBRIEF: 2018 Minnesota composers new works competition

With support from McKnight Foundation, the Minnesota Sinfonia has announced a call for new and unpublished chamber orchestral scores. The deadline to submit original work is Sept. 1.

The submitted work must be a new, unpublished composition that has not been performed by a professional orchestra. Composers must be current residents of the state of Minnesota. The work should be between five and eight minutes long (1- 2 movements).

The instrumentation can be no larger than the following (Note: no divisis for any of the strings):

• One flute (no double to piccolo)

• Two oboes (no doubles to English horn)

• One clarinet (A and/or B flat, no bass or e flat)

• One bassoon

• Two French horns

• One trumpet

• One timpani player (two drums max) which can include ad lib percussion (drum set and a few auxiliary instruments. Note: If you include ad lib percussion, it, and the timpani must be playable by one person, and the percussion is not needed to give a good rendition of the work.)

• Violin I and II

• Viola

• Cello

• Bass

The work must include the full string compliment listed above but does not necessarily have to use all of the winds and timpani. The work can be an arrangement of another of the composer’s compositions, but the original piece also must be unpublished, and not have been performed by professional musicians in concert settings. The music must be written in a “conservative” style, appropriate for a broad mix of audience members. Avant-garde and/or experimental writing are not acceptable. Score must be prepared and submitted in music software Finale 2014 or earlier, or Sibelius 7 or earlier. XML versions of Sibelius files will be required. All winning compositions and the individual parts must be formatted in 8.5×11” pages. Formatting instructions will be provided. Previous recipients of this grant program within the past five years (2013 until the present) are not eligible to enter again.

Works by four composers will be selected. One composer will receive $6,000, and the remaining three composers will share $8,500, (exact amounts to be determined by the Sinfonia). Works will premiere at a MN Sinfonia concert with composers receiving a CD of the performance. All decisions are made by MN Sinfonia Artistic Director Jay Fishman and are final.

Call Jay Fishman at 612-871-1701 or email him at with questions. Submit your piece, along with complete contact information (name, mailing address, phone, and email, along with any notes to:

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here