Candidate filing opens next week for East Side area

Minnesota midterms will be busy.

The midterm elections are quickly approaching and that means it’s time for candidates to file to run. 

The candidate filing period for those seeking election this fall will open up on May 22. The midterm ballot will be full this year as voters will be electing not only state representatives and county commissioners, but also federal representatives and a new governor.

Specific to the East Side, there are three seats up for election this fall — House District 66B, which is currently represented by John Lesch, DFL; House District 67A, currently held by Tim Mahoney, DFL; and House District 67B, which is currently represented by Sheldon Johnson, DFL.

Johnson, who has represented 67B for almost two decades, announced late last year he will not seek re-election.

At the county level, four Ramsey County Commissioner seats that cover various parts of the East Side are up for election — district 3, currently represented by Janice Rettman; district 5, currently represented by Rafael Ortega; district 6, currently represented by Jim McDonough; and district 7, currently represented by Victoria Reinhardt.

District 3 includes part of the Payne-Phalen neighborhood west of Edgerton Street and north of Phalen Boulevard. District 5 includes the Railroad Island neighborhood and much of Dayton’s Bluff and the Mounds Park neighborhood. District 6 covers the majority of the East Side from Edgerton Street east. District 7 includes the Hillcrest neighborhood in the northeastern-most corner of the East Side.

Additional positions up for election at the county level include Ramsey County Attorney, currently held by John Choi, and Ramsey County Sheriff, which is currently held by Jack Serier. 

Beyond the positions more specific to the East Side, Minnesotans will also be voting for a new governor this fall. Gov. Mark Dayton announced last year that he will not seek re-election. 

While Minnesota’s two U.S. senators are normally elected in different years, this year both seats, currently held by Sen. Amy Klobuchar and Sen. Tina Smith, are up for election. 

Smith was appointed to one of the seats late last year by Dayton after Al Franken resigned from the Senate following sexual harassment allegations. Smith’s seat will be voted on through a special election, in which Smith is running.

In addition, the Minnesota Secretary of State, state auditor and attorney general will all be up for election this year. Current state auditor Rebecca Otto is bidding for the DFL endorsement in the governor’s race. 

The Fourth Congressional District seat, which is currently held by Betty McCollum, will also be up for election this year. 

June 5 is the last day for candidates to file. The primary will take place on Aug. 14 and the general election is Nov. 6. Filing can be done with Ramsey County Elections at 90 Plato Blvd. W. Call 651-266-2000 for more information or go to 

For more information about absentee and early voting go to Election information can also be found at the Secretary of State website at


– Marjorie Otto can be reached at 651-748-7816 or at Follow her on Twitter at @EastSideM_Otto

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here