Shoreview seeks Citizen of the Year nominations

Through the beginning of October, Shoreview is seeking nominations for its eighth annual Citizen of the Year award, which recognizes volunteer efforts within the community.

“It’s a very meaningful award, and the bar has been set very, very high for who gets that award,” said Shoreview Mayor Sandy Martin.

“It’s a great chance to stop for a second and take a look at the people that give back to their community.”

Nominees must, per the nomination form, “possess and demonstrate a generous community spirit,” and will be considered for the award based upon work done on behalf of the city, for non-profit or volunteer organizations and on “individual contributions that benefit the city of Shoreview.”

The award will be presented by the city council at Shoreview’s annual Volunteer Recognition Event on a yet-to-be-determined date, which usually happens in October, with the winner’s name added to a plaque at City Hall, along with recognition in the city newsletter.

Previous award recipients, from last year’s to 2007, respectively, are Julie B. Williams, Mark Stange, Marsha Soucheray, Peggy Wedell, Jacci Krebsbach, Kent Peterson, Bill Farrell, Karen Eckman and Mary Hilfiker.

Nomination forms and more guidelines are available at; forms can be dropped off at Shoreview City Hall, 4600 Victoria St. N., prior to the Oct. 3 deadline.

-- Mike Munzenrider


Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here