Roseville takes down No. 1 seed's picture

Roseville Area High School’s baseball team has turned into the squad no one wants to face in the post-season. For the third consecutive year, the Raiders have pulled off an upset of the top-seeded team in the Section 4AAA playoffs.

Roseville, seeded ninth, entered its section contest against No. 1-seeded Tartan on Saturday morning as the heavy underdog but emerged from the game as the surprise 2-1 victor.

Mike Stasny drove in the game-winning run in the top of the sixth inning with a single that plated Jesper Horsted, who had led off the inning with a base hit and moved into scoring position via Danny Busch’s sacrifice bunt.

The win gives Roseville wins over the top seed for the third consecutive year. Last year as the seventh seed, the Raiders beat top-seeded Hill-Murray, No. 2 Cretin-Derham Hall and third-seeded Mounds View en route to the section final. In 2011, Roseville was the ninth seed and eliminated No. 1 Hill-Murray in the second round.

Roseville scored the game-winning run a half-inning after Tartan mounted its most serious threat of the game in the bottom of the fifth. The Titans had the bases loaded with one out but Raiders’ starter Andrew Colvard fielded a ground ball up the middle and threw out Jake Jackson at home plate and induced a fly ball to left fielder Tom Hvidylhd.

Colvard went the distance for the Raiders, giving up one run on five hits. He walked four, hit two batters and struck out four.

Roseville drew first blood in the game thanks to some shoddy throwing by Tartan. With two outs in the top of the fifth, Horsted struck out but when the ball bounced in the dirt broke for first base. The throw from catcher Connor Simons to first base was in the dirt and allowed Horsted to reach.

With Dan Busch in the batter’s box, Simons tried to pick off Horsted at first but this throw sailed over first baseman Kevin Reddy’s head into right field. That sent Horsted to second and when Derek Zuniga’s throw back to the infield ended up in left field, Horsted took off for third and didn’t stop as Roseville head coach Mike Ponsolle gave him the green light. Horsted scored without a(nother) throw.

Tartan got that run back in the bottom of the third when Eric Winter led off with a walk, took second on a sacrifice bunt, moved to third on Jackson’s single and scored on Simons’ base hit.

Aside from the unearned run, which was entirely not his fault, Tartan starting pitcher Tyler Feyereisen was just as good, if not better than Colvard. Feyereisen gave up two runs (only one was earned) on five hits. He walked only one and struck out six.

In the end Colvard’s teammates outperformed Feyereisen’s, especially defensively, by not committing any errors.

With the victory, Roseville advances to a third-round match-up against East Ridge or Hill-Murray on Tuesday at 5 p.m. at Midway Stadium. Tartan falls into the loser’s bracket and gets to play holiday baseball on Monday, Memorial Day, at 12:30 p.m. at North St. Paul’s Kuenkel Field against either East Ridge or Hill-Murray.

Section 4AAA baseball playoffs

First round

Game 1 – Roseville 8, Woodbury 2

Game 2 – Hill-Murray 3, South St. Paul 0

Game 3 – Stillwater 5, White Bear Lake 0

Game 4 – Cretin-Derham Hall 10, North St. Paul 0


Second round

Game 5 – Roseville 2, Tartan 1

Game 6 – Hill-Murray vs. East Ridge

Game 7 – Stillwater vs. Mahtomedi

Game 8 – Cretin-Derham Hall vs. Mounds View


Third round, Monday at North St. Paul

Game 9 – Tartan vs. Game 6 loser, 12:30 p.m.

Game 10 – Game 7 loser vs. Game 8 loser, 3 p.m.


Fourth round, Tuesday at Midway Stadium

Game 11 – Roseville vs. Game 6 winner, 5 p.m.

Game 12 – Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 7:30 p.m.


Fifth round, Wednesday at Midway Stadium

Game 13 – Game 9 winner vs. Game 12 loser, 5 p.m.

Game 14 – Game 10 winner vs. Game 11 loser, 7:30 p.m.


Sixth round, Saturday at Midway Stadium

Game 15 – Game 13 winner vs. Game 14 winner, 4 p.m.

Game 16 – Game 11 winner vs. Game 12 winner, 7 p.m.


Loser’s bracket final, June 3, 2:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium

Game 17 – Game 15 winner vs. Game 16 loser


Championship round, June 4, 7 p.m. at Midway Stadium

Game 18 – Game 16 winner vs. Game 17 winner

(Second game, if necessary, June 5, 2:30 p.m. at Midway Stadium)

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here